top of page

Anxiety: What It Is and How You Can Deal With It

According to the American Physiological Association, anxiety is “an emotion characterized by feelings of tension, worried thoughts and physical changes”. It is surely a feeling we have experienced at least once in our lives: it makes us feel uncomfortable, worried, unhappy. In this article, I will try to help you overcome anxiety, and suggest methods that could help you manage this unhealthy emotion.

Stress and anxiety are, according to the Healthline Website Editors, “two sides of the same coin”: Both can be caused by an event or activity, and is often a reaction to stress. Common Symptoms caused by these emotions are headaches, stomachaches, fast heartbeats, sweating, dizziness, jitteriness, muscle tension, rapid breathing, panic, nervousness, difficulty concentrating, irrational anger or irritability, restlessness, and sleeplessness. It is important to note that stress and anxiety aren’t always negative emotions: they can help boost you or concentrate you. However, if they are too persistent you should seek treatment or start trying to stop these emotions on your own.


I have always had anxiety in my life since I was very little. I used to get anxious about little events, such as hanging out with my friends or going to school. I still deal with anxiety daily, for reasons that include schoolwork, sports and friends. This is why I have developed different methods that help me cope with anxiety when it arises.


First, reflect on what might give you this anxiety. Is it summatives? Sports? Friends? Recognize when you feel particularly uncomfortable and why. Then, try these coping techniques! The first technique you could try is journaling. Write about your day, get your mind off of your feeling of uneasiness and reflect on the positives of your day. Also, never look at your whole workload together: if summatives or competitions are causing your anxiety, look at one thing at a time.


Hobbies are great for reducing anxiety. Drawing, writing a book, playing soccer or tennis, horseback riding. All of these can help you take your mind off the anxiety and relieve some tension. Meditation is the fourth tip I will give you, and it is one that really helps you relieve some tension. I know this sounds cliche, but hear me out! Meditation is a great way to keep a clear and focused mind. It helps you remain calm. For example, I always meditate for 10 minutes before my math summatives, which really scare me and cause 90% of my anxiety. Try it! You won’t regret it. Headspace is a great app that offers guided meditations.


Lastly, breathe and relax. A technique I find really useful that helps me do this is one I have actually created myself. I take a deep breath, and keep inhaling counting to 5, pause for a second (counting to 6), then exhale while counting to 8. This means that you will inhale for 5 seconds, keep the air for 6 seconds, and exhale for 8 seconds. Repeat this process at least 3 times, until you feel that it has worked.

Have fun staying calm!


- Stella Chiappetta

Recent Posts

See All

Why Do We Yawn?

It seems like a simple question, doesn’t it? Though, the answer is a lot harder to define. No one is sure why we yawn, we kind of just…...

Comments


bottom of page